Search Gluten Free Food & Drink

The Gluten-Free Shop

What are Vegan and Vegetarian Gluten Free Beers and Lagers?

Living a gluten free lifestyle can be difficult enough, but when you add in another dietary requirement such as being a vegan or vegetarian, it can become even harder, unless you know where to look for the right products.

At the Gluten Free Shop, we want to make sure you can find the right products to suit all of your dietary requirements. We stock a range of vegan and vegetarian gluten free beer, so you can get the best of both worlds when opting for a refreshing beverage.

Why is beer not gluten free?

The use of hops, barley, cereals and other ingredients all contain gluten which make most beers unsafe to drink for those with coeliac disease or a gluten sensitivity. As part of an EU directive, beers will have to state on the packaging whether their products contain gluten, however as the UK leaves the EU, it remains to be seen if this requirement will stay.

To make gluten free beer, companies will often replace the wheat they normal use with sorghum. Sorghum is a naturally gluten free grain and is becoming increasingly popular thanks to its wide range of uses.

Why is beer not always vegan or vegetarian?

Some beers will use ‘finings’ in their beer to clarify the liquid. These finings can be seaweed but are often made from a product called isinglass. Isinglass is a form of collagen derived from the dried swim bladder of a sturgeon fish. While the isinglass isn’t consumed, as it settles at the bottom of a cask, it still rules out beer for vegetarians due to the use of animal product in the process.

Other things to watch out for include honey, which may be used in beer but is not a vegan product.

Where to buy vegan and vegetarian gluten free beers and lagers?

It may not be clear on the label as to whether the beer is vegan, vegetarian or gluten free. It is always best to choose a brand that advertises itself as gluten free and vegan for peace of mind. One such brand is Daas, a Belgian beer, which you can purchase here.

Have a question about gluten free food or drink?

Please get in touch and we will see if we can help you.

3 + 8 =

Share This